Rain Fish

Rain Fish
by Lois Ehlert

A rainy day turns trash into a variety of fish! Shredded cardboard, ticket stubs, bottle caps, receipts, and other discarded materials come together to form fish of all shapes and sizes. Simple, rhyming text supplements the unique fish as they float across the pages.

I’m a huge fan of Lois Ehlert’s work- I have used her collage style illustrations as inspiration for many activities with my students. From her books we have created our own snow creatures and leaf creatures. For this book, I can see myself bringing in a variety of items for my classes to make their own, unique fish. What a great lesson this could be on reusing discarded items, bringing in an environmental theme!

Leave a Reply

