Garvey’s Choice

Garvey’s Choice
by Nikki Grimes

I was so excited to find this book on Epic! recently when I was unable to sleep and looking for a book to read. Garvey’s Choice is on our state student book award reading list for the 2017 – 2018 school year and is on my summer book order list.

Told in verse, this wonderful book is the story of Garvey, a young man more interested in science than athletics, much to the disappointment of his father. At school he faces frequent bullying due to his weight. Things take an interesting turn, however, when Garvey becomes a soloist for the chorus. Will Garvey’s father approve of his new love of singing?

I flew through this book! I always tell my students that, if I open a book on a Saturday morning and don’t budge from the couch until I’m done, then I know it’s a great choice for me. Garvey is a likable character and, the more I got to know him, the more I wanted things to go his way. Many readers will be able to relate to the situations that Garvey goes through in this story. I love how the story was told in verse, each page was like its own little poem. An author’s note at the end shares that the story is told using an ancient form of poetry called Tanka, and she also gives a breakdown of how it is written. A great book that I look forward to sharing with my students in the fall!

Leave a Reply

